Founded in 1927 by Dr. Fuqing Yan—a dedicated Chinese medical educator and scholar in public health, Shanghai Medical College, Fudan University (SMCFU) has a long-standing reputation of excellence in medical teaching,research training for medical l professionals.  Ranked among the national leading medical universities since its establishment under the name of Shanghai Medical University, it  aims high for academic excellence in addition to advocation of intergity, devotion and committment of society  and human being as a whole. Shanghai Medical College, Fudan University was inaugurated since its merge with Fudan University  in 2000.

There are 6,802 enrolled students including 1,579 doctoral candidates (10 oversea students), 2,014 Master degree students (48 oversea students), 2,504 undergraduates (154 oversea students), The College boasts a faculty of 455 full-time teachers and 97 full-time researchers, among whom 351 are of Senior Professional Title. The College boasts 4 academicians of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (Xiongli Yang, Ziyin Shen, Zhengmin Wang, Junbo Ge), 5 academicians of the Chinese Academy of Engineering (Zhaoyou Tang, Haozhu Chen, Yudong Gu, Yumei Wen, Liangfu Zhou), 18 Cheung Kong Scholars Program professors awarded by Ministry of Education, 13 chief scientists of the National Basic Research Program (including key advanced sciences) and 22 Professors awarded by"The National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholar".

Bachelor degree program is offered in 10 academic disciplines: Clinical Medicine (8 years), Clinical Medicine (5 years), Clinical Medicine (6 years, taught in English), Basic Medicine, Forensic Medicine, Preventive Medicine, Public Management (especially on public health services), Pharmacy, Clinical Pharmacy and Nursing. One vocational degree program is offered in 1 discipline: Nursing; Ph.D degrees program is offered  in 68 academic disciplines, and Master degrees progam is offered in 45 academic disciplines. there are 7 research stations that offer post-doctoral fellowships----Biology, Basic Medicine, Clinical Medicine, Public Health and Preventive Medicine, Integrative Medicine, Pharmacy, and Public Management; 3 National Key Level I Disciplines: Biology, Basic Medicine, and Integrative Medicine; 12 National Key Level II Disciplines: Internal Medicine (Cardiovascular Disease, Nephrology, Infectious Disease), Pediatrics, Neurology, Imaging and Nuclear Medicine, Surgery, Ophthalmology, Otorhinolaryngology, Oncology, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Epidemiology and Health Statistics, Pharmaceutics, Social Medical and Health Management; 1 state key library (Medical Neurobiology); 5 Key Laboratories of Ministry of Education (Medical Molecular Virology, Molecular Medicine, Smart Drug Delivery, Health Safety, Canceration and Invasive Principle); 9 key Laboratory of the Ministry of Health (Glycoconjugates, Clinical Pharmacology of Antibiotics, Restoration of Hand Injury, Medical Technology Assessment, Medical Molecular Virology, Audiology, Myopia, Viral Cardiology, Neonatal Diseases); and 4 Shanghai Key Laboratories (Microsurgery of Peripheral Nerve, Medical Imaging and Computer- Assisted Technology, Organ Transplant, Female Reproductive and Endocrine Diseases).

SMCFU is situated  in Fenlin Campus which covers 1,900 square meters, including  east and west caupus on both sides of Dong’an Road, the school of nursing, Institute of Radiation Medicine, and School of Pharmacy is outside the campus. there are 10 affliated hopitals which are  Zhongshan Hospital, Huashan Hospital, Shanghai Cancer Center, Children’s Hospital, The Obstetrics and Gynecology Hospital, Eye-ENT Hospital, Jinshan Hospital, Shanghai No.5 Hospital, Shanghai Public Health Clinical Center, and Huadong Hospital. a list of  5 hospitals is  in preparation of  becoming affilated hospitals to the University, they are Pudong Hospitial, Minhang District Mental Health Center, Qingpu District Center Hospital, Jingshan District Center Hospital, Minhang District Center Hospital, Shanghai Stomotolgy Hospitals.